The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945.  It is currently made up of 193 Member States.  The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.


United Nations Conference on Trade and Development  (UNCTAD)

Working at the national, regional, and global level, their  efforts help countries to:

  • Diversify economies to make them less dependent on commodities
  • Limit their exposure to financial volatility and debt
  • Attract investment and make it more development friendly
  • Increase access to digital technologies
  • Promote entrepreneurship and innovation
  • Help local firms move up value chains
  • Speed up the flow of goods across borders
  • Protect consumers from abuse
  • Curb regulations that stifle competition
  • Adapt to climate change and use natural resources more effectively

Together with other UN departments and agencies, they measure progress by the Sustainable Development Goals, as set out in Agenda 2030.

United Nations Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD)

The Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) is a subsidiary body of theEconomic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

The Commission provides the General Assembly and ECOSOC with high-level advice on relevant science and technology issues.

Working Group on Enhanced Cooperation on Public Policy Issues Pertaining to the Internet (WGEC)

The Chair of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development, through the Economic and Social Council,  is to establish a working group to develop recommendations on how to further implement enhanced cooperation as envisioned in the Tunis Agenda.