International coordination and cooperation

The Intergovernmental European Telecommunications Satellite Organization (EUTELSAT IGO) was established on 2 July 2001 after privatization of the European Satellite Communications Organization (EUTELSAT). As a result, the company  EUTELSAT S.A. was formed. The intergovernmental organization EUTELSAT IGO now has the function of policy-making and supervision of the company.

INTERSPUTNIK International Organisation of Space Communications was established in 1971 by the governments of nine states, including Bulgaria. Nowadays the system is operated on commercial basis, involving the governments of 26 countries.

The Regional Commonwealth in the Field of Communications (RCC) was established in 1991 as a regional organization of the former Soviet republics, with the main task of coordinating the activities of the relevant administrations in the field of communications.

The European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) is the European organization for communications, which is also a regional forum for the European Union in this field. The European Commission participates in CEPT in an advisory capacity.

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is a specialized UN organization in the field of information technology and telecommunications, based in Geneva. It was founded in 1865 when the first International Telegraph Convention was signed in Paris. It established the International Union for Telegraphic Communications, which later grew into the ITU.

The impact of Brexit on roaming tariffs was discussed at a meeting today with Minister of Transport, Information Technology and Communications Rossen Jeliazkov and Seán Kyne TD, Minister of State for Community Development, Natural Resources and Digital Development.